DISCUSSIONS

Book Covers Are The First Impression | Discussion

This week I’ve decided to talk about how important I feel book covers are. So take a seat and lets discuss.

First Impressions are Everything

To me a cover is just as important as the words on the pages between the cover. A cover should promote the overall theme, emotion and description of a book. A cover is often the deciding factor between a book being bought and read or not.

A cover should make a good impression in order to make it among those millions of others out there with similar plots. Its the difference between book A and book B.

Judging a Book By its Cover

I am a judger of book covers hands down, and I’m not afraid to admit it. I think we’ve all done it at some point, even without realizing it. Personally I use book covers primarily when I know I want to read a certain genre of book but can’t decide. I blindly walk the shelves of my local book store or library in search of a cover that catches my eye, that calls out to me to read it.

This method has brought me some great reads but it is not for the faint of heart as it can also become misleading.

Even Covers Can Be Misleading

I’ve run into covers being misleading a few times too many. I won’t get into my pet peeves about blurbs at the moment but a misleading cover in combination with the blurb on the back can be quite disappointing when you open the cover and start to read and find out it’s not what you were expecting.

Though covers should promote the overall theme, feeling and description of a book it should be taken with a grain of salt. Covers and blurbs are the selling features of semi-tangible product. You can touch it but you’re unaware of what you’ll experience when you open the covers. You can only hope that you’re instincts are right about your choice and leave it to fate.

Now for a treat, here’s a sneak peek at some covers I’ve fallen in love with for books releasing this month

Emerge by Tobie Easton Book CoverTuesday Nights in 1980 by Molly Prentiss Book CoverFellside by M. R. Carey Book Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How do book covers factor into your reading process? Share in the comments below!

One thought on “Book Covers Are The First Impression | Discussion

  1. I’m a total cover judger. It’s a glimpse into the “soul” of the book. I’m sure I’ve passed down some great books due to a boring cover. And I’ve been tricked into reading some non-winners by amazing covers. Usually though, it’s pretty spot on.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

