DISCUSSIONS

Discussion | 6 Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Started Blogging

Hey guys!!

Today I want to share five things that I’ve come to realize as I continue to emerse myself in the book blogging world, things that I kinda wish I had known before hand. These are things I would have taken into consideration before I started blogging. Here they are:

1. Blogging is pretty much a full time job – between planning what to post when, actually writing the posts, answering comments, commenting on other blogs, promoting through social media and since this is a book review blog, actually reading books, this blog takes up most of my time. Right now at this time of the year I put both hands in the bucket to run the thing, but when school starts back up in September I know it’s yet again going to turn into a nightmare. Hopefully now that I started planning posts and pre-scheduling posts I’ll have it better under control. 

2. Posts require strategic planning – of course it does, although I am just realizing this now the past few months that I have finally forced myself to sit down and plan has been a godsend. 

3. To see positive results it takes time – I’ve had the blog running for over a year now, I only just, (before January) began to see the results and fruits of my labour, of course I realise now that it was mostly my fault, I was not posting regularly, and my posts were pretty sporadic. 

4. Blogging platforms have their drawbacks – I was originally on Blogger but didn’t really like the back end or the fact that blogger sometimes out of the blue at my posts. Now that I’m on wordpress which I sometimes dislike because it’s limited, I can’t wait for the day I decided to self-host, if this blog ever gets there. I would eventually like to be a self-hosted site. 

5. You lose your progress faster than you gain it –  I have a habit of going off the “radar” so to speak, I sometime go weeks without social media or the internet. It’s my way of disconnecting myself. I don’t like to be totally attached to my phone or laptop/tablet. Of course I mostly use this time to read and read alot, but when I come back you start to notice your views/followers have either diminished a little bit or not moved at all and then it takes twice as much work to get it moving again. 

6. I don’t read nearly as much as I used to –  now this is something I can change personally, it’s just getting in that zone and saying “hey this stack of books has to be read this week, you need to get your arse in gear” but I have realized that I don’t read as much as I used to and I’m not sure why. That and I get into a reading rut alot. 

 

So now that I’ve shared things that I wish I would have known, I’d like you to tell me a something you wish you had known before you started your blog. If you don’t have a blog, then ask me a question, something you’ve been dying to know about and I’ll do my best to give you an answer.

Happy Reading!!

4 thoughts on “Discussion | 6 Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Started Blogging

  1. The biggest things I wish I’d have known were that amount of time and effort it takes and the amount of social networking involved. I don’t mind putting in the time, but it sure is a commitment! Thank goodness I usually have one day a week to get all of my weekly posts done since I just don’t have time during the week. And social networking is the best way to get visitors and meet people but I’m a shy person and it doesn’t come naturally to me. I have to force myself to really interact with people and it’s hard for me. It’s the best thing you can do for a blog though!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

