Book Reviews

Third Degree by Julie Cross

Third Degree by Julie CrossTitle: Third Degree
Author: Julie Cross
Series:
ISBN-13: 978-0-5533-9034-6
Publisher: Flirt
Release Date: March 25 2014
Genre/s: Contemporary & New Adult Romance
Format: E-Book; 240 pages
Source: Netgalley
* Given in exchange for my honest review*

Add to Goodreads
Buy: Amazon | Kobo | Barnes and Noble

 

Synopsis

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

 

My Thoughts

This novel in my own words is about a eighteen/nineteen year old girl who is beyond years older mentally than your average eighteen year old and is attempting to get into a medical residency program after finishing her medical internship. Much to her surprise she was denied due to the fact that she needs to now age psychologically.

Isabelle has never been able to grow up normal, because she isn’t normal, she’s smart…more than smart she’s a genius. After being denied her dream she embarks on a journey to experience what people her age should be experiencing, the college life.  Unfortunately she isn’t any good at it and that’s where the boy next door comes in, he’s determined to give her an all rounded college experience.

I don’t know why it took me so long to read the novel, I’m talking like roughly three weeks. I was kind of in a slump but the novel was good, something I would definitely reread. This novel was sad, I admit I ended up shedding a few tears near the end. The novel was also funny, Izzy and all her naive-ness when it come to socializing with people, the author wrote her personality in such a way that her curiosity though thrown in your face a bit it wasn’t eye-rolling repetitive. In most circumstances I would have cringed at the things she had done but because her personality had called for it, I found it was almost expected and funny.

I came to really care for Izzy in the end and finding out about her past I felt quite sad, the road blocks she’s had to endure all her life for the way things came out in the end. Marshall’s play in her life was also really blinding, I hadn’t expected him to turn out the way he did, the two of them really pulled at my heartstrings in the end.

The author introduced a lot of really intriguing characters that I’d be interested in reading about again. I only hope she does something with the roots she’s implanted in this story. It would also be nice to read more about Izzy and Marsh and where they end up in the future.

My Rating: 4/5

 

About The Author

Julie CrossI’m the International Bestselling author of the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, and the final installment, Timestorm. I’m also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, a mature young adult romance set in the world of elite gymnastics, as well as several forthcoming young adult and new adult novels with publishers like Entangled, Sourcebooks, HarperCollins, Random House, and St. Martin’s Press/Thomas Dunne Books.

I live in Central Illinois with my husband and three children. I’m a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA. I’m a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres. Outside of my reading and writing credibility, I’m a committed–but not talented–long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Third Degree by Julie Cross

Share Your Thoughts

