Uncategorized

What I’m Reading {03} The Joys of Having Two Books On the Go!!

What I’m Reading is a meme originally hosted and featured here on Crazy Antics where I showcase the book I’m currently reading and what I think of it so far.

Hey guys, so I have two books for you for now, the one I started right after I finished reading Fifty Shades of Grey, it’s one that’s been sitting on my tbr pile for awhile, one that was offered in exchange for an honest review that got shuffled down to the bottom of my e-books on my device. The other is a sequel in  a series, one that I’ve been reading for quite some time but not really. I started it awhile ago and then set it down because it’s an actual physical book and then the other day I found my e-book copy of it and I’ve been reading it ever since.

 

Third Degree by Julie Cross

Third Degree
by
Julie Cross

ISBN-13: 978-0-5533-9034-6
Publisher: Flirt
Release Date: March 24th 2014
Genre/s: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult

Progress: 31% of 240 pages
Format: E-book
Source: Netgalley

Synopsis:
Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

What I Think So Far?

I’m really enjoying it so far, Izzy’s innocence is hilarious. Some of the things Izzy and Marsh get up to while at school is enough to make my insides hurt from laughing so hard. This is a really down to earth (so far) romance novel. The setting is a college campus but the author hasn’t written typical college things, its different and a breath of fresh air.

What I don’t Like so far?

There isn’t anything that I’m disliking so far.

Add to Goodreads

Dragonfly In Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Dragonfly In Amber 
by
Diana Gabaldon

Series: Outlander #2
ISBN-13: 978-0-3853-3597-3
Release Date: July 1st 1992
Genre/s: Historical Romance, Romance, Science Fiction

Progress: 300/743
Format: E-book/Paperback
Source: Purchased/Borrowed

Synopsis:
With her now-classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon introduced two unforgettable characters — Claire Randall and Jamie Fraser—delighting readers with a story of adventure and love that spanned two centuries. Now Gabaldon returns to that extraordinary time and place in this vivid, powerful follow-up to Outlander….

For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland’s majestic mist-shrouded hills. Here Claire plans to reveal a truth as stunning as the events that gave it birth: about the mystery of an ancient circle of standing stones … about a love that transcends the boundaries of time … and about James Fraser, a Scottish warrior whose gallantry once drew a young Claire from the security of her century to the dangers of his….

Now a legacy of blood and desire will test her beautiful copper-haired daughter, Brianna, as Claire’s spellbinding journey of self-discovery continues in the intrigue-ridden Paris court of Charles Stuart … in a race to thwart a doomed Highlands uprising … and in a desperate fight to save both the child and the man she loves….

What I think so far:

I first feel in love with this series when I saw the first episode of the television series in the fall. I was impatient waiting for the next episodes so I decided to read the book for the first time. I received the first book in a box of books my dad rescued from a job site but I was hesitant to read the series because my mother told me the books were long and lengthy and often times drawn out to the point of boredum, fortunately I decided not to listen and started to read it anyway, and how wrong she was. I fell in love instantly.

My Review of Outlander is here

I started Dragonfly in Autumn almost right after I finished Outlander when I borrowed the paperback from my grandmother as I had yet to locate my e-book version. The second installment has some faults but I’m pushing through, there will be more on this down below. I recently picked the book back up in the form of my e-book version. (Much easier way to read on the way to school) And I have since fallen back in love with the story. I’m really into historical fiction and this book is no exception when Claire is back in time in Scotland.

What I don’t like so far:

I found the book to be a tad boring when the book is in the perspective of Roger Wakefield. I don’t really enjoy those parts. There are also times when theres a little too much detail and it makes it tough to get through, but I’m a trooper and I know that the details are important to the furthering of the story.

Add to Goodreads

Advertisements

One thought on “What I’m Reading {03} The Joys of Having Two Books On the Go!!

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s