Book Reviews

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

* Please note that this is a reread and a re-review. The review I did is before my blogging days and needs some serious updating, to see it click here

Fifty Shades of Grey - E.L. JamesTitle: Fifty Shades of Grey
Author: E L James
Series: Fifty Shades – #1
ISBN-13: 978-1-6121-3029-3
Publisher: Vintage
Release Date: May 25th 2011
Genre/s: Adult Fiction, Romance, Erotic Fiction
Format: E-book; 356 pages
Source: Bought

Add to Goodreads
Buy: Amazon | Kobo | Barnes and Noble

 

 

 

 

Synopsis

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

 

My Thoughts

There is a lot sometimes that some don’t remember when they read a novel for the first time and later re-read it again and think I don’t remember this happening, or thinking of a scene that you think was in the book but didn’t end up being in it. This is what happened with me, this is probably the third time I’ve read this book, but the first time in years that I’ve re-read it. I always debated with friends that this novel wasn’t as bad as other people make it out to be, that it does have a solid plot line and Christian Grey isn’t a dominating abusive so and so who should rot in hell for the rest of his life. But after re-reading this book I find myself at a crossroad, I no longer disagree with my friends but I don’t necessarily agree with them either. But let me stop here before I get ahead of myself.

The novel is about a woman, recently graduated from university who embarks on unconventional relationship with a highly successful man whose outlook on life is skewed due to his difficult upbringing as a small child.

At first before the whole bdsm plot was introduced I was convinced that the novel had the beginning foundations of a romance novel, and I would have continued to be convinced has the author not completely left it in the first quarter of the book. She hints at it a little bit in the discussions of more between Ana and Christian and even includes little scenes where Christian is “trying” to do more but other than that little itty bit it’s completely forgotten and the bdsm plot takes over.

I found that I could relate to Ana’s innocent personality a little bit but then not at all, for someone who doesn’t like pain she clearly runs right to it and her personality sometimes contradicts her actions in the novel. Not to mention she lets Christian mentally walk all over her, she feels obligated to so what he says because she’s in love with him and he knows it, he takes advantage of her in every situation and that not only makes him a jerk and like my friend tried to point out abusive in both mentally and physical ways.

Though this novel has it’s faults I did enjoy the romance that was involved. When Christian wasn’t in screwed up mode, and took Ana on dates and they were playful and he was sweet.

This novel isn’t for someone who doesn’t like violence, picturesquely graphic sexual scenes, or anyone under the age of 18.

My Rating: 3/5

The Series

Fifty Shades of Grey – #1
Fifty Shades Darker – #2
Fifty Shades Freed – #3

About the Author

E L James

I’m a former TV executive, wife and mother-of-two based in the  leafy suburbs of West London. Since January 2012 my life has  taken an extraordinary turn with the runaway success of  the Fifty Shades Trilogy. From an early age I had always dreamt  of writing stories that readers would fall in love with – and my  dreams have come true, thanks to you guys. Now that life seems to have settled down a little, I want to crack on and write my next novel – another adult, provocative romance. I do hope you will enjoy that too.

Thank you for all your support. It has meant the world to me. If any one were to ask me for my thoughts about this whole experience, I would say: life is not a dress rehearsal – seize the day and follow your dreams. I wish you the best of luck.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

Share Your Thoughts

