Uncategorized

What I’m Reading {1}

What I’m Reading is a meme originally hosted and featured here on Crazy Antics where I showcase the book I’m currently reading and what I think of it so far.

For today’s post:

I started reading a new book yesterday.

image

Gears of War: Aspho Fields
by
Karen Traviss

 

 

 

Series: Gears of War – #1
ISBN-13:
978-0-3454-9943-1
Publisher:
Del Rey
Release Date:
October 28, 2012
Genre/s:
Science Fiction, Fantasy

Progress: 127/385 pages
Format: paperback
Source: Borrowed

Synopsis:

For the first time, fans of the blockbuster Gears of War video games get an in-depth look at Delta Squad’s toughest fighters–soldier’s soldier Marcus Fenix and rock-solid Dominic Santiago–as well as a detailed account of the pivotal battle of the Pendulum Wars.
As kids, the three of them were inseparable; as soldiers, they were torn apart. Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago fought alongside Dom’s elder brother Carlos at Aspho Fields in the epic battle that changed the course of the Pendulum Wars. There’s a new war to fight now, a war for mankind’s very survival. But while the last human stronghold on Sera braces itself for another onslaught from the Locust Horde, ghosts come back to haunt Marcus and Dom. For Marcus–decorated war hero, convicted traitor–the return of an old comrade threatens to dredge up an agonizing secret he’s sworn to keep.
As the beleaguered Gears of the Coalition of Ordered Governments take a last stand to save mankind from extermination, the harrowing decisions made at Aspho Fields have to be re-lived and made again. Marcus and Dom can take anything the Locust Horde throws at them–but will their friendship survive the truth about Carlos Santiago?


What I think so far:
I’m currently enjoying it. Its not something I generally would read, but its different and I’m glad I gave it a shot. I had a discussion with my boyfriend about the video games and how I loved to play the series (He was bewildered that I do) and that I love the story line, the next thing I know he’s pulling out all the books he has from the series. The novel is turning out to be a pretty quick read that happens when I’m waiting between exams (when my brain to too fried to study) and to and from school.

What I don’t like so far: There’s nothing that I don’t like really. The novel starts out at the beginning eighteen to twenty years ahead of where the novel is at now. The scenes keep jumping back and forth in time, at times it’s a tad bit confusing but I’m managing.

Add to Goodreads

One thought on “What I’m Reading {1}

Share Your Thoughts

