Book Reviews

Daughter of Oreveille by Tricia Ballad

[book-info]

Brianna will inherit everything – if she can play by the rules.
Instead she rejects yet another fine noble of the Faelands in favor of a half-fae commoner.
The House of Oreveille has been without a Defender since her father’s death in the Jotnar Wards. Her mother’s drunkard second husband has neglected his duties; the estate has fallen into decay and rumors are flying that the grand house of Oreveille, protector of the border between Gaia and the Faeland for thousands of years, may soon fall.
How much will Brianna be forced to sacrifice to protect the life – and the man – she has chosen?
Add to Goodreads

 

Review

First off I must express how overcome with emotion I was with this novel. This novel was probably the quickest read (2 hours give or take a few minutes) that I’ve actually had the pleasure of reading in a long time. The only regret (well two) that I have is that for one I wished it was long. The story was over as fast as it began and I wished it didn’t have to end. The other being that I hit a bit of confusion, when the novel jumped or so I thought into the future. The chapter page stated it was still the same time (month and year) as when the book started, even though on the second page in the chapter (chapter 23) they talked about how it had been years. It left me a bit confused as to how much time had actually passed since they had first left.

The characters were so easy to fall in love with…with the exception of Cordov and Brianna’s mother. By the end of the book I was glad where they ended up, because they deserved it. They were both manipulative in ways that ended in tragedy. I can only assume that by the end of the book Brianna’s mother had passed…or am I to expect to see her in the next book?

By the end of the book I was left hanging with lots of questions that will hopefully be answered in the next book. All in all it was a different kind of novel with Fae elements, a refreshing read for me and I can’t wait to read the second installment when it becomes available.

Share Your Thoughts

