Book Reviews

Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

Fifty Shades of Grey - E.L. JamesFifty Shades of Grey
E L James
Series: Fifty Shades – #1
ISBN-13: 978-1-6121-3029-3
Publisher: Vintage
Release Date: May 25 2011
Genre/s: Adult Fiction, Erotica, Romance, Contemporary
Format: Paperback; 514 pages
Source: Bought

 

My Rating: 4/5

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too – but on his own terms.Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family – Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Add to Goodreads
View the Series
Buy: AmazonBarnes and Noble | Itunes | Kobo

Review

First off let me just say that this isn’t a book I would have picked up off the bookstore shelf and start reading. When I was at the bookstore, I did pick this book up and read the synopsis on the back and put it right back where I found it knowing that this wasn’t the book for me. The title was what caught my eye…that was until I read the back of the book and then dismissed it, this isn’t a genre I venture into. It wasn’t until both my aunt and mother recommended the book that I finally picked it up and gave it a go.

In all truth I thought it was a good book. It had the romantic plot line that always piques my interest, despite the other erotic plot. The characters Ana and Christian were well developed. They had concrete back stories that backed up their personalities. It was a hard book to put down.

Definitely a reread and a sequel reader.

 

E L James

I’m a former TV executive, wife and mother-of-two based in the  leafy suburbs of West London. Since January 2012 my life has  taken an extraordinary turn with the runaway success of  the Fifty Shades Trilogy. From an early age I had always dreamt  of writing stories that readers would fall in love with – and my  dreams have come true, thanks to you guys. Now that life seems to have settled down a little, I want to crack on and write my next novel – another adult, provocative romance. I do hope you will enjoy that too.

Thank you for all your support. It has meant the world to me. If any one were to ask me for my thoughts about this whole experience, I would say: life is not a dress rehearsal – seize the day and follow your dreams. I wish you the best of luck.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James

Share Your Thoughts

